These are the discovery observations of asteroid 2018 LA from the Catalina Sky Survey, taken June 2, 2018. About 8 hours after they were taken, the asteroid entered Earth's atmosphere and disintegrated in the upper atmosphere near Botswana, Africa.

These are the discovery observations of asteroid 2018 LA from the Catalina Sky Survey, taken June 2, 2018. About eight hours after these images were taken, the asteroid entered Earth's atmosphere (about 9:44 a.m. PDT, 12:44 p.m. EDT, 16:44 UTC, 6:44 p.m. local Botswana time), and disintegrated in the upper atmosphere near Botswana, Africa.

More information about asteroids and near-Earth objects is available at http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/asteroidwatch.

View all Images