This image from NASA's Juno spacecraft is one of two taken 12 minutes apart which neatly captures storm movement in the southern hemisphere of Jupiter.

View the animation

This time-lapse animation of two true-color images taken 12 minutes apart neatly captures storm movement in the southern hemisphere of Jupiter.

NASA's Juno spacecraft took these images during its tenth close flyby of the gas giant planet on Dec. 16, 2017 at 10:12 a.m. PST (1:12 p.m. EST) and 10:24 a.m. PST (1:24 p.m. EST). At the time, the spacecraft was about 8,453 miles (13,604 kilometers) and 19,244 miles (30,970 kilometers) from the tops of the clouds above the planet, with the images centered on south latitudes of 27.96 degrees and 49.91 degrees.

The animation reveals the cyclonic motion of the STB Ghost, a large elongated feature in Jupiter's South Temperate Belt. This feature is elongated in the east-west direction and is located near the center in these images.

Citizen scientist Björn Jónsson processed the image using data from the JunoCam imager.

JunoCam's raw images are available at www.missionjuno.swri.edu/junocam for the public to peruse and process into image products.

More information about Juno is online at http://www.nasa.gov/juno and http://missionjuno.swri.edu.

NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory manages the Juno mission for the principal investigator, Scott Bolton, of Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio. Juno is part of NASA's New Frontiers Program, which is managed at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, for NASA's Science Mission Directorate. Lockheed Martin Space Systems, Denver, built the spacecraft. Caltech in Pasadena, California, manages JPL for NASA.

View all Images