NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Outstanding community volunteers from the La Canada- Flintridge area will be recognized at the 29th annual Les Tupper Awards ceremony, to be held at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) Monday, May 12, from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. Members of the local community are invited to attend.

The award, sponsored by the La Canada-Flintridge Coordinating Council, is named after the late Leslie C. (Les) Tupper, a La Canada resident and community leader. This year it will be presented to five individuals and one organization whose volunteer contributions, including work with hospitals and schools, have contributed significantly to the local community.

Hosting the awards ceremony will be Kirk Dawson, associate director of JPL and active member of several community organizations. Dawson will also present an overview of JPL's current and future projects.

Ollie Blanning of the Los Angeles County Fifth District Office will represent Los Angeles County Supervisor Mike Antonovich in presenting the award certificates.

The awards ceremony will be preceded by a presentation from the La Canada High School band, and followed by a reception hosted by council board members. For more information on the event, contact Harold Arman, vice-president of the La Canada Coordinating Council, at (818) 790-4145.

News Media Contact