share this page:


Solar System Montage (Updated)

This is a montage of planetary images taken by spacecraft managed by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. Included are (from top to bottom) images of Mercury, Venus, Earth (and Moon), Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The spacecraft responsible for these images are as follows:

the Mercury image was taken by Mariner 10,
the Venus image by Magellan,
the Earth image by Galileo,
the Mars image by Viking, and
the Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune images by Voyager.
Pluto is not shown as no spacecraft has yet visited it.

The inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, and Mars) are roughly to scale to each other; the outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) are roughly to scale to each other. PIA 00545 is the same montage with Neptune shown larger in the foreground. Actual diameters are given below:

Sun 1,390,000 km
Mercury 4,879 km
Venus 12,104 km
Earth 12,756 km
Moon 3,475 km
Mars 6,794 km
Jupiter 142.984 km
Saturn 120,536 km
Uranus 51,118 km
Neptune 49,528 km
Pluto 2,390 km


  • Solar System Montage (Updated)
  • The New Solar System
  • Solar System Montage - High Resolution 2001 Version
  • Mercury
  • Caloris Basin, Mercury
  • The Spider, Mercury
  • Terrestrial planet sizes
  • Messenger at Mercury
  • Mercury
  • Mercury
  • Mercury in color
  • Mariner 10
  • Hollows on Mercury
  • Mercury
  • Mercury surface
  • Double ring crater, Mercury
  • Caloris Basin, Mercury
  • Brahms Crater, Mercury
  • Mercury
  • Mercury

Search for images