National Ocean Sciences Bowl Winning Team
Santa Monica High School's regional Ocean Sciences Bowl team, from left to right: Coach Ingo Gaida; Rhys Gaida; Amy Amatya; Nanki Chugh; Ryu Akiba; and Josh Sheng. Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

Regional Event Information

Date: 02/24/2018
Maximum Number of Teams:12
Maximum Number of Teams per School: 1
Registration Fee: $75
Hosted by: Jet Propulsion Laboratory

States and/or Counties Served
Los Angeles County, California
Orange, California
Riverside, California
San Bernardino, California
Ventura, California

Team Approval Process
Teams will be selected by lottery. There will be a nonrefundable registration fee of $75.00 per team for entrance into this competition. Checks are to be made payable to "JPL" and are to be sent, along with a letter from the coach on school letterhead of the team's intent to participate in this event, to The Public Services Office, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Mail Stop 186-113, 4800 Oak Grove Drive, Pasadena, CA 91109. To be included in the lottery we must receive your check and letter of intent by November 17, 2017. JPL's regional competition is limited to 12 schools. Lottery winners will be announced on December 1, 2017. Checks will be returned to those teams not selected. Final team paperwork and roster must be submitted by December 15, 2017 or you will forfeit your place in the competition.

Regional Contact Information
Regional Coordinator: Kimberly Lievense
Phone: 818-354-0112