This movie from the Murrumbateman Observatory in Australia shows asteroid 2012 DA14 as it makes a close -- but safe -- flyby of Earth. The images were taken around 17:18 UTC (12:18 p.m. EST, or 9:18 a.m. PST) on Feb. 15, 2013, before the asteroid's closest approach to Earth. The asteroid can be seen first at the bottom right part of the screen and then moves up.

View all Videos