An animated set of images, from the telescope known as the iTelescope.net Siding Spring Observatory, shows asteroid 2012 DA14 as the streak moving from top to bottom in the field of view. The animation is available in the Planetary Photojournal.
Add image to your album
Email this page Post this page to your Facebook wall Tweet this page

Asteroid 2012 DA14 as Seen from Siding Spring, Australia

animation for PIA16737
Click on the image for the animation

This animated set of images, from the telescope known as the iTelescope.net Siding Spring Observatory, shows asteroid 2012 DA14 as the streak moving from top to bottom in the field of view. The images were taken around 9:40 a.m. PST (12:40 p.m. EST, or 17:40 UTC) on Feb. 15, 2013.

The exposure time was 5 seconds long.

Image details

ID#:
PIA16737

Date added:
2013-02-15

Target:
Asteroid

Mission:
Siding Spring Observatory

Rating:



Views:
1,476

Full-Res TIFF:
PIA16737.tif (0.27 MB)

Full-Res JPG:
PIA16737.jpg (0.03 MB)

Image credit:
Courtesy of E. Guido/N. Howes/Remanzacco Observatory