This frame from a movie from the Samford Valley Observatory in Brisbane, Australia, shows the progress of asteroid 2012 DA14 across the night sky as it nears its closest approach. It was taken at 12:59 UTC on Feb. 15 (7:59 a.m. EST, or 4:59 a.m. PST).
Add image to your album
Email this page Post this page to your Facebook wall Tweet this page

Approach of Asteroid 2012 DA14 from Samford Valley Observatory

animation for PIA16735
Click on the image for the animation

This movie from the Samford Valley Observatory in Brisbane, Australia, shows the progress of asteroid 2012 DA14 across the night sky as it nears its closest approach. It was taken at 12:59 UTC on Feb. 15 (7:59 a.m. EST, or 4:59 a.m. PST). The movie has been sped up 50 times.

Image details

ID#:
PIA16735

Date added:
2013-02-15

Target:
Asteroid

Mission:
Samford Valley Observatory

Rating:



Views:
1,232

Full-Res TIFF:
PIA16735.tif (0.37 MB)

Full-Res JPG:
PIA16735.jpg (0.05 MB)

Image credit:
Courtesy of J. Bradshaw