This first image of comet 103P/Hartley 2 was taken from NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft 60 days prior to the spacecraft's flyby of the comet.
Add image to your album
Email this page Post this page to your Facebook wall Tweet this page

Deep Impact Spacecraft's First Glimpse of Comet Hartley 2

Click here for larger version of figure 1 for PIA13374
Click on the image for the larger version

This first image of comet 103P/Hartley 2 was taken from NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft 60 days prior to the spacecraft's flyby of the comet.

Seven successive one-minute exposures taken by the spacecraft's Medium Resolution Imager were combined to make this single image. The exposures were taken on Sept 5 beginning at about 6:30 a.m. PDT (9:30 a.m. EDT, 13:30 UTC). The comet was 60 million kilometers (37.2 million miles) from the spacecraft when the set of images were taken.

Image details

ID#:
PIA13374

Date added:
2010-09-08

Target:
Comet

Mission:
Deep Impact

Spacecraft:
Deep Impact

Instruments:
Medium Resolution Imager (MRI)

Size:
512 x 512 pixels (width x height)

Rating:



Views:
2,614

Full-Res TIFF:
PIA13374.tif (0.26 MB)

Full-Res JPG:
PIA13374.jpg (0.05 MB)

Image credit:
NASA/JPL-Caltech/University of Maryland