Artist's concept of the Deep Impact spacecraft
NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft, illustrated in this artist's concept, has an appointment with comet Hartley 2. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech
› Larger image
PASADENA, Calif. -- NASA will hold a series of news and educational events about the EPOXI mission's close encounter with comet Hartley 2, scheduled to occur at approximately 7 a.m. PDT (10 a.m. EDT) on Thursday, Nov. 4. The spacecraft will provide the most extensive observations of a comet in history.

Tuesday, Nov. 2: The public is invited to a free lecture on Nov. 2 by the discoverer of comet Hartley 2, Malcolm Hartley. The lecture will take place at JPL's von Karman Auditorium at 7 p.m. PDT. Hartley, a resident of Coonabarabran, Australia, discovered the comet on March 15, 1986. More information on the lecture, called "NASA's Going to My Comet," is online at: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/events/lectures_archive.cfm?year=2010&month=11. The event will also be carried live at http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2, with question-and-answer capability.

Thursday, Nov. 4: Live coverage beginning at 6:30 a.m. PDT (9:30 a.m. EDT) from mission control at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., will be available online on NASA Television's Media Channel. Coverage includes closest approach, an educational segment, and the return of close-approach images. A post-flyby news briefing is planned for 1 p.m. PDT (4 p.m. EDT). For NASA TV streaming video, scheduling and downlink information, visit http://www.nasa.gov/ntv.

Activities will also be carried live on one of JPL's Ustream channels at: http://www.ustream.tv/user/NASAJPL2.

The public can watch a real-time animation of the EPOXI comet flyby using NASA's new "Eyes on the Solar System" Web tool. JPL created this 3-D environment that allows people to explore the solar system directly from their computers. Visit http://solarsystem.nasa.gov/eyes.

EPOXI is an extended mission that utilizes the already "in-flight" Deep Impact spacecraft to explore distinct celestial targets of opportunity. The term EPOXI is a combination of the names for the two extended mission components: the Extrasolar Planet Observations and Characterization (EPOCh), and the Hartley 2 flyby, called the Deep Impact eXtended Investigation (DIXI). For more information about EPOXI, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/epoxi and http://epoxi.umd.edu.

JPL, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the EPOXI mission for NASA.

Media Contact

DC Agle 818-393-9011
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
agle@jpl.nasa.gov

2010-366