Live JPL Open House Video/Chat: Next Best Thing to Being There

montage of events at Open House Tune in to JPL's Ustream page for the Open House video/chat at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasajpl .
  • submit to reddit

April 23, 2009

PASADENA, Calif. - Don't worry if you can't attend this year's annual Open House at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif. - just throw on your fuzzy slippers, switch on your computer and join us for a live video stream and chat.

The event, from JPL's mission control and other key locations, will give viewers the opportunity to chat live with scientists and engineers. It will air on the "NASAJPL" channel available on Ustream TV at: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasajpl on Saturday, May 2, starting at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT and 17:00 UTC).

JPL's annual Open House gives the public an opportunity to meet scientists, watch demos and tour some of the laboratories where the next planetary and Earth-monitoring missions are being designed and built.

A live video chat will be held at the top of each hour for about 20 minutes on these topics / locations:


10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT and 17:00 UTC): Mars Rovers
11 a.m. PDT (2 p.m. EDT and 18:00 UTC): Mission Control
Noon PDT (3 p.m. EDT and 19:00 UTC): Window to the Universe
1 p.m. PDT (4 p.m. EDT and 20:00 UTC): Spacecraft Assembly Area

If you are unable to take part in the live chat, you may submit questions in advance to chatquestion@jpl.nasa.gov and watch the archived video at a later time. If you are on Twitter, follow what visitors are saying about the JPL Open House on @NASAJPL, which is at www.twitter.com/NASAJPL .

More information is available at: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/events/open-house.cfm .

See video highlights of last year's Open House: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/video/index.cfm?id=811 .

JPL is managed for NASA by the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Media contact: Carolina Martinez 1-818-354-9382
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
carolina.martinez@jpl.nasa.gov

2009-073



Saucer Out of the Drink NASA Holds Briefing on Early Test Results for New Planetary Landing Technology

› Read more

This artist's concept shows the test vehicle for NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD), designed to test landing technologies for future Mars missions. NASA Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator Set to Lift Off

› Read more

This artist's concept shows the test vehicle for NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD), designed to test landing technologies for future Mars missions. NASA Sets New Dates for Saucer-Shaped Test Vehicle Flight

› Read more


Get JPL Updates
Sign Up for JPL UpdatesRegister today and receive up-to-the-minute e-mail alerts delivered directly to your inbox.
Sign Up for JPL Updates