Asteroid to Fly By Earth Wednesday

orbit of 2009 FH, Mar. 17, 2009 Orbit of 2009 FH, Mar. 17, 2009.
  • submit to reddit

March 17, 2009

PASADENA, Calif. – A small asteroid will fly past Earth early tomorrow morning (Wed., March 18). The asteroid, 2009 FH, is about 50 feet (15 meters) wide. Its closest approach to Earth will occur at 5:17 a.m. PDT (8:17 a.m. EDT, 12:17 UTC) at an altitude of about 49,000 miles (79,000 kilometers).

"This asteroid flyby will be a good viewing opportunity for both professional and amateur astronomers," said Don Yeomans of the Near-Earth Object Office at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif. "The asteroid poses no risk of impact to Earth now or for the foreseeable future."

NASA detects and tracks asteroids and comets passing close to Earth. The Near Earth Object Observation Program, commonly called "Spaceguard," plots the orbits of these objects to determine if any could be potentially hazardous to our planet.

For more information, visit: http://neo.jpl.nasa.gov/

Media contact: DC Agle/JPL
818-393-9011



This view of Earth comes from NASA's Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer aboard the Terra satellite. NASA Celebrates Earth Day with Public Events and Online Activities

› Read more

This artist's concept shows how the Optical Payload for Lasercomm Science (OPALS) International Space Station to Beam Video via Laser Back to Earth

› Read more

Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2 NASA's OCO-2 Brings Sharp Focus on Global Carbon

› Read more


Get JPL Updates
Sign Up for JPL UpdatesRegister today and receive up-to-the-minute e-mail alerts delivered directly to your inbox.
Sign Up for JPL Updates