This artist's concept shows the test vehicle for NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator
This artist's concept shows the test vehicle for NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD), designed to test landing technologies for future Mars missions. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech
› Full image and caption

The second flight test of NASA's Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD) now will launch no earlier than 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT, or 7:30 a.m. HST) Tuesday, June 2, from the U.S. Navy's Pacific Missile Range Facility (PMRF) on Kauai, Hawaii. NASA Television coverage will begin at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT, or 7 a.m. HST).

To accommodate prevailing weather conditions, mission managers moved the launch window one hour earlier to increase the probability of LDSD launching on time.

NASA's LDSD project is designed to investigate and test breakthrough technologies for landing future robotic and human Mars missions and safely returning large payloads to Earth. The test, performed over the Pacific Ocean, will simulate the supersonic entry and descent speeds at which the spacecraft would be traveling through the Martian atmosphere.

As part of an LDSD media day on Monday, June 1 at PMRF, a mission overview briefing at 8 a.m. HST (11 a.m. PDT, or 2 p.m. EDT) will be broadcast live on NASA TV and online at:

http://www.nasa.gov/nasatv

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

During the Q&A portion, briefing participants will include answers to questions submitted to the Ustream chat box or via Twitter using the #askNASA hashtag.

NASA's LDSD program is part of the agency's Space Technology Mission Directorate in Washington, which innovates, develops, tests and flies hardware for NASA's future missions. For more information about NASA's investment in space technology, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/spacetech


News Media Contact

DC Agle
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California
818-393-9011
agle@jpl.nasa.gov

Kim Newton
Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Alabama
256-544-0371
Kimberly.d.newton@nasa.gov

2015-179