Follow this link to skip to the main content, the main content is a slideshow with respectively links
spacer
NASA Logo - Jet Propulsion Laboratory   + View the NASA Portal

spacer
homeearthsolar systemstars galaxiestechnology
home
history images video and audio downloads events
Hams Invited To Dial In Explorer 1 Celebration

Explorer I marked the dawn of the Space Age for the United States as well as the beginning of the Jet Propulsion Lab’s exploration of space. To celebrate the 50th anniversary of this momentous event the JPL Amateur Radio Club will be operating station W6VIO from 8 a.m. PST (1600 UTC) on Monday, January 28th,  thru 8 p.m. PST on Sunday Feb. 3 (0400 UTC February 4th) using the following frequencies: 3535, 7035, 7185, 14035, 14240, 21035, 21285.

For each confirmed conversation JPL Amateur Radio Club plans to make available a commemorative Explorer 1 QSL card (postcard that serves as a confirmation of communication).





Privacy / Copyrights    FAQ   Contact JPL
Link to FirstGov.gov + Freedom of Information Act View NASA Home Page
JPL Historian: Erik Conway
Site Manager: Susan Watanabe
Webmasters: Tony Greicius, Martin Perez