Student Programs

QUICK SEARCH

Program Type:
Discipline(s):
Education Level:
Period:

Educator Workshop: The Scale of Discovery

Educator Workshop: The Scale of Discovery On April 26, NASA's Discovery Program will hold an educator workshop on what it takes to make agency missions happen and who drives these tremendous projects. Image credit: NASA > Learn more and register


March 19, 2014

Date: April 26, 2014

Target Audience: K-12 educators

Location/Time:
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif. - 8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. PST
Montana State University, Bozeman, Mont. - 9:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. MST
Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX - 10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST
Applied Physics Laboratory, Laurel, Md. - 11:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. EST

Overview:
You want to go where? What does it take to make a NASA mission happen, and who are the people that drive these tremendous projects? In the Discovery Program's fourth annual multi-site professional development workshop, we delve into issues of scale: distance, time, size, models, comparative planetology and more. We learn the stories behind amazing NASA missions, from conception to science results, and how talented team members collaborate to successfully meet the challenges of complex missions.

Two interactive panels of mission scientists and engineers from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory and The Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory will represent all of the Discovery and New Frontiers current missions: InSight, Juno, Dawn, OSIRIS-REx, New Horizons, and MESSENGER.

Hands-on, standards-aligned science and engineering activities and multimedia interactives:
- For both K-12 and out-of-school time educators
- Break-out sessions at varying grade levels

Resource materials:
- A CD containing mission-designed curriculum and activities for all grade levels with links to great online interactives.
- Posters, bookmarks, stickers and more!

Webinar Option: For those who cannot attend in person, the panel discussions will be streamed live and archived. Check the website for more details.

The cost of the workshop is $25. Lunch and snacks will be provided.

For more information and to register, visit: http://dawn.jpl.nasa.gov/discovery/scale_of_discovery.asp