asteroids

HOME  |  OVERVIEW  |  TOP TEN  |  MISSIONS  |  NEWS  |  IMAGES  |  VIDEO & AUDIO  |  INTERACTIVES

Live Chat With NASA's Asteroid Trackers

asteroid Ida and its moon Dactyl This view of asteroid Ida and its moon Dactyl, to the right, was taken by the Galileo spacecraft.
  • submit to reddit

March 23, 2009

A live videocast and chat from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif., offers a unique opportunity for viewers to ask questions of scientists with NASA's Near-Earth Object Program Office about how NASA discovers and tracks asteroids.

The live event will air on the "NASAJPL" channel available on Ustream TV at: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasajpl on March 25 at 4:30 p.m. PDT (7:30 p.m. EDT and 23:30 UTC).

NASA detects and tracks asteroids and comets passing close to Earth. The Near-Earth Object Observation Program, commonly called "Spaceguard," discovers, characterizes and computes trajectories for these objects to determine if any could be potentially hazardous to our planet.

Participants include:
-- Don Yeomans, manager, NASA's Near-Earth Object Office at JPL
-- Steve Chesley, scientist, NASA's Near-Earth Object Office at JPL
-- Paul Chodas, scientist, NASA's Near-Earth Object Office at JPL

If you are unable to take part in the live chat, you can submit questions in advance to chatquestion@jpl.nasa.gov and watch the archived video at a later time.

More information about NASA's Near-Earth Object Program Office is available at: http://neo.jpl.nasa.gov/

NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, managed by the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, manages the Near-Earth Object Program Office for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington.

Media contact: DC Agle 818-393-9011
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
agle@jpl.nasa.gov

2009-057

emailshareprinttext sizeIncreaseIncrease